TPM Total Productive Maintenance

Total Productive Maintenance is a lean six sigma framework that stands on 5 pillars that are elimination of main problems, autonomous maintenance, planned maintenance, early management of new equipment, education & training on the job. TPM framework below also lists target agreement systems and target tracking, as well as teamwork, continuous improvement process, cleanliness, order and discipline as key components of the TPM model. The diagram below explains the details of the TPM framework.

Push vs pull system

Push vs pull system diagram below explains the difference between two key lean six sigma process types. Push system is when material is pushed into downstream workstations regardless of whether resources are available. Pull system – materials are pulled to a workstation just as it is needed. Push thus is effective make all we can just in case while pull is make what is needed when we need it. The diagram below summarizes the differences between the push and pull methods.

Lean Six Sigma Design Principles

Lean six sigma design principles include quality, speed to increase customer satisfaction, decreasing variations and defects, improving process flow while heavily relying on data and facts and doing it all through effective team work. The LSS design principles diagram below list all the key categories that lean six sigma relies upon.

PDCA cycle

PDCA cycle stands for Plan, Do, Check, and Act. Plan for change to bring about improvement, Do change on a small scale first to try them, check to see if changes are working and investigate selected processes, act to get the greatest benefit from changes. PDCA cycle continues as shown on the below PDCA diagram.

DMAIC tools for each phase

DMAIC Phase Tools Used: Define – Define project goals and customer deliverables, develop Problem Statement, Goals and Benefits; Identify Process Owner and Team Members; Define Resources; Develop Project Plan and Key Milestones

By using Lean Six Sigma DMAIC approach, companies bring proven tools and techniques to decrease variation, reduce defects and make operations more efficient. The Lean Six Sigma methodology uses the acronym DMAIC, which stands for Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control.